Japan: Shochu

Shinjuku Golden Town, Tokyo

I mentioned shochu in my earlier post. I didn’t know what it was before I came here so I’m not sure if others know.

It’s a type of Japanese alcohol that’s similar to vodka. It can be made from lots of different things, but the ones we’ve seen are usually potato, rice, grains (barley, etc), or cane sugar. We also saw some made from seeds or leaves. The strength is somewhere between sake and vodka, so it’s not very strong, and is usually mixed to make a highball drink. I had one mixed with tea and one with water and a sour pickled plum.

You can see the the tops of the bottles in the picture in the bar, those are all different shochu bottles.

Leave a Reply

