Japan: Sayonara

Asakuza, Tokyo

Well, that’s it. In a few minutes we’ll be headed to the airport where I’ll jump from Narita to Seattle to Detroit and then finally home. It’s been quite an experience and I’m definitely sad to leave Tokyo. I want to come back but I’m not sure I’ll get a chance to, plus there are so many other places to see.

Yesterday I walked around and did some shopping, realizing that it was the first time I’d been exploring on my own. It was fun, but since it was raining I didn’t stay out long. Being a complete stranger in a city is an interesting feeling. Last night my brother picked up some slabs of fish from the market and we cut some sashimi. Cutting up a big octopus tentacle was quite the learning experience.

I’m supposed to land at home around 11:00 PM Sunday, local time. It feels like a long time from now, and the beginning of my trip feels like it was months ago, not weeks. But, soon, it’s back to everyday life. Can’t wait to be home and see everyone again.

Krispy Kreme, Shibuya, Tokyo

Hase-Dera, Kamakura, Kanagawa

2 thoughts on “Japan: Sayonara

  1. Mikey

    I’d just like to thank you for providing me with this very interesting first person perspective on a country I very much want to visit. I’ve spent the whole morning reading it instead of doing work like I should be. You’d be proud. ;)

  2. B

    Awesome. And definitely go if you get the chance, it’s an amazing blend of culture shock and the familiar.

Leave a Reply

