Taste of Albany

IMG_6374Well, the photos from the Taste of Albany event are up. I can’t say I’m necessarily proud of the work, but I’m happy with it. It was a tough place to shoot; in terms of light, it’s a giant room surrounded by windows, between 6:00pm and 8:00pm, and all of the booths were set up around the outside. This means I was constantly shooting toward my light source, never a fun time.

Add to this the fact that I’d only had a week to get used to the camera, I’ve never done this kind of thing before, I was pretty much given carte blanche in terms of what to shoot, and I had to actually, you know, interact with people to get portraits, and the result was a very stressful night and only a handful of decent photos. The organization shouldn’t mind; I volunteered my services and they’ll get plenty of shots that will work for the web.

IMG_6514It was a learning experience. There are a lot of things I should have changed: using fill flash more often, being confident enough to reposition people when lighting wasn’t working, being outgoing and “on” enough to step up to people a little more boldly. That’s alright though, I now have a chance to work on my post-production, something I definitely need practice on.

I’d love to do more events like this. It involves a lot of things I’m working on for myself — not just the photography — and I got to meet a lot of people I probably wouldn’t meet or talk to otherwise. This was the Thursday that kicked off five days of nonstop action for me, and I’m still sort of recovering from that; last night was burgers, wine, and photo editing, tonight is burger leftovers, more photo editing, and catching up on old Heroes seasons.

IMG_6322 IMG_6567 IMG_6362
Leave a Reply

