Going Back to Film

IMG_8661
Where it all started.

Yesterday I pulled out my old 35mm film camera — the camera I learned on, a battered, thrice handed down Pentax MG. I never realized at the time how lucky I was; in lenses alone, it came with a 50mm prime f2, a 28mm prime f2.8 and a 28-200mm f3.5-5.3 macro zoom. Add in color filters for B&W photography, a cable release, UV and polarizing filters, and a vari cross filter, and I should have been doing all kinds of really horrible art-school wannabe photos.

Oh, the memories. I decided I should pick up some film and take it with me on a shoot or two and expose a few rolls. Why not? It’s sort of like the NES that sits in the attic, that you decide to pull out and play with when you’re bored. Hopefully this thing aged better than the NES. No, I won’t be blowing into it.

If I get a chance I’ll have to scan some of the prints I made in my photography class in, what was it, 1997? Damn. A long time ago. I still have all my negatives and most of the prints, minus a few I mounted which are fuck knows where. It was good times; I remember the instructor telling me some of my photos were very phallic, which ones to try solarizing, and the time I walked in on a girl in the class, topless, in the studio. No, it didn’t turn into a Penthouse Forum letter.

Hopefully, sometime soon, you’ll see a few B&W photos on here from film. I think, because it’s such a different experience from digital, it should help ground me a bit. Any learning experience is a good one.

IMG_8666 IMG_8657
Leave a Reply

