Hawaii, Day One

Hawaii rainbow
This is what we woke up to.

Our first full day on Kauai started with chickens. Specifically, me being woken up by roosters at 2:00 am. And trying to sleep while listening to roosters until 6:00 am, the only difference after 6:00 being that I stopped trying to sleep.

We mostly got our bearings and tried to shake off our jetlag. My aunt and uncle have a rental that opens on the beach, only a five minute walk from our unit (in Kaiahuna Plantation). So, of course we spent most of our time there. Until around 11:00 the beach is mostly empty, and I’m antisocial and there’s so reason I want to see young women in bikinis working on their tans, so when lunchtime came around we headed out to find some quick eats.

Fifteen minutes of family drama later we ate, went back to the beach, and rented some snorkeling gear. This was one of the coolest things I’ve ever done. It’s hard to believe that while you’re swimming, about four feet below you are all these fish, sea anenomes, sea cucumbers (or maybe they were sea slugs, I don’t know), and more stuff I can barely describe.

As I’m typing right now, I’m watching the ocean right outside the back door, remnants of a tropical storm drifting by, and surfers still going at it at 5:00pm. And yeah, I’m loving my life.

Hawaii fern Kauai rooster
5 thoughts on “Hawaii, Day One

  1. Your chicken hating coworkers

    Wait, so you are watching women in their bikinis while you are without swim trunks??!?!!?!?!?!

    You have no idea the small chuckling your little posting has brought us. Your tiny tidbit provides minor humor.

  2. Your ex cellmate

    Let me get this straight. You don’t want to be subjected to scantily clad women laying on the beach. You had to go get something to do rather than look at them. Got it.

  3. B Post author

    I did manage to scrounge up some trunks, and yes my tiny tidbit usually is humorous. And some people need to learn about sarcasm. Thanks for the comments guys, I’ll have another update at the end of the day Monday, but the weather isn’t looking too good.

  4. Pingback: Nice Hawaii photos | Travel Zona

Leave a Reply

