Day Three: Hiking the Na Pali Coast

Hawaii, Kauai, Hiking the Na Pali Coast
That small strip of beach is where we ended and turned back; this was taken about halfway there.

I’m still sunburned. Not quite as bad. But still sunburned.

Today’s post is going to be a bit truncated; we hiked the Na Pali coast and since the majority of my 289 photos of the day were from that, this will just briefly cover it. Hopefully before I go to sleep or sometime in the morning I can update about the rest of the day.

Basically the Na Pali hike runs alongside a cliff that ranges from a hundred to a few hundred feet straight down to the ocean. At some points in the trail is less then two feet wide. It’s less of a hike than a climb; you’re either going uphill or downhill the entire time, over rocks, roots, and thanks to a tropical depression, mud. I’m not going to say I have a fear of heights but I have a deal with heights that I’m not going to get into. Suffice to say that heights and I have an agreement and while we held this agreement there were a couple of spots where heights poked me and said yo, I can take your punk ass out anytime.

But, in the end, it was amazing. The river that leads to the ocean at the beach was strong and the tide was coming in, so that passage was difficult and we had to call it a day early, but it was entirely worth it. In the spirit of a “photoblog”, I’m going to let the pictures tell most of the story (click on them to check out more from the day), but the end result is that I am absolutely exhausted, so exhausted that I didn’t even eat dinner. If you know me, you know that’s serious.

Hawaii, Kauai, Hiking the Na Pali Coast  -- Crashing Waves Hawaii, Kauai, Hiking the Na Pali Coast
Hawaii, Kauai, Hiking the Na Pali Coast Hawaii, Kauai, Hiking the Na Pali Coast Hawaii, Kauai, Hiking the Na Pali Coast
5 thoughts on “Day Three: Hiking the Na Pali Coast

  1. ladyholly27

    I hope you went swimming anyway. Your not a wimp. Your not afraid of some stupid current are you?

  2. B Post author

    I was about to go swimming but an octopus, an octopus, came out and told me not to, it was a bad idea. I figure, he has eight freaking legs and can breathe water, I should trust him, right? Turns out he just stole the ham sandwich I packed for lunch while I was distracted.

  3. ladyholly27

    I didn’t know octopuses have legs but if you see legs ok I ‘ll go along with you. How many umbrella drinks did ya have before you saw all this?

Leave a Reply

