Happy Birthday

This is what I got for my birthday.

Because my friends are pretty much the awesomest people ever, ever.

Sebastien organized a group of my friends to pitch in toward this 50mm prime f/1.8 lens. For those who aren’t into this geeky shit, a 50mm prime is one of the core pieces of kit that any photographer should have; I wanted to save up and get the 50mm f/1.4 but this will do nicely. When I opened this in front of two dozen friends, I struggled to hold back tears. This is the nicest thing anyone who’s not related to me has ever done. I broke down later in the night, in private. Experimenting with this lens continues; results should be up soon.

Thanks, folks. Love ya.

12 thoughts on “Happy Birthday

  1. Sebastien

    Aw, Happy birthday.
    Damn’, we wanted to drink those tears :) Next year!
    The lens came with a cleaning kit. For the dust :)
    Yeah for new adventures!
    Also big thanks to people who pitched in.

  2. Laura

    so when he says “in private” he means, “with Laura”. And he not exaggerating. Seb, you should be proud.

  3. B Post author

    No, the camera is just so good. It picks up things we can’t see. It– okay, yeah, the table needs to be wiped down.

  4. B Post author

    Thanks! Yes, I’m reminded every day how lucky I really am; it goes a lot further than this, but suffice to say I know some of the best people in the world, for real, no joke, totally seriously absolutely.

Leave a Reply

