Papscanee Island Adventure

Papscanne Island, Schodack NY, 05.23.2010

Went on another adventure Sunday. L wanted to kayak, so we headed to Schodack Island State Park. Thanks to Governor Paterson, it was closed. As in big locked gates closed. I still wanted to park and carry the kayak on foot but instead we drove just north to Papscanee Island Preserve.

There were a lot of mosquitoes.

The kayak hit the water, some photos were taken, a derelict boat was found. Eleven mosquito bites later we headed home, a great afternoon on a great day.

Papscanne Island, Schodack NY, 05.23.2010 Papscanne Island, Schodack NY, 05.23.2010
9 thoughts on “Papscanee Island Adventure

  1. Keet

    The sky looks great in that top one. Yay for summer adventures. Not so much Yay for mosquitoes. Luckily they don’t find you if you kayak!

  2. B

    Thanks! I may redevelop that one, I think the rest is a little too dark.

    I need a kayak. Then we can follow the Google Map directions to Japan.

  3. Paul

    I visited Schodack Island park in the winter and planned to return once I bought my kayak, since they had a nice public boat launch… buuut you know what happened to that. Grrr :(

    When I search for ‘Papscanee Island’ on Google Maps it just brings me to near an unnamed road… is there actual parking and stuff here?

  4. B

    Yep, there is a small lot. I’ll pull up and embed a satellite view. There are two entrances, parking is at the south entrance. And there’s a bit of carrying of the kayak you’ll have to do.

  5. Dan Odell

    Any day you can kayak on that part of the Hudson is a good day. And, good news, Schodack Island State Park will reopen in time for the Memorial day weekend. The parks’ kayak launch platform in the Schodack creek is great, and there is much to explore in the creek and in the streams that flow out of Schodack Island into the creek. See you on the River. Dano

  6. B

    Thank Dano! Yeah, I heard the parks were reopening, unfortunatey it sounds like they raided the EPF to fund them. That wasn’t me kayaking; I had my first kayak experience today actually, and of course now I want one. See you on the river indeed.

  7. Amy

    I visited Schodack Island park in the winter and planned to return once I bought my kayak, since they had a nice public boat launch… buuut you know what happened to that. Grrr :(

    When I search for ‘Papscanee Island’ on Google Maps it just brings me to near an unnamed road… is there actual parking and stuff here?

  8. B

    There is parking, it’s a little tough to find on the map. I believe the road is called Staats Island Rd. There’s a small lot and you’ll have to carry your kayak a bit — when the trail forks, take a left.

Leave a Reply

