Heirloom Tomatoes from Heldeberg Market

Heirloom Tomatoes from Heldeberg Market

Heldeberg Market is one of the best things that’s happened to the capital region in the last year. It’s an organization that brings many local farmers and artisans together into one central outlet, simultaneously increasing exposure for those farms and increasing availability for anyone who wants awesome local food. Not only can you choose the items you want from multiple farms, but Heldeberg will deliver to you. My office has organized a group buy and we usually hit the $150 free delivery limit, so every Thursday I get fresh eggs, produce, meat, whatever.

The above is an heirloom tomato I got a few weeks ago. It’s the biggest tomato I’ve seen in my life. I didn’t do a great job of showing scale here, but that’s an apple and an eight-inch knife next to it, just to give you an idea. When it came it was a greenish yellow, and over a week and a half or so it deepened into this brilliant orange with red streaks. The cross section almost looks like flames. But how did it taste? with a little salt, absolutely delicious; mild, just shy of sweet, with a solid, meaty texture.

Best of all, it was $1.54 per pound. You can bet I’ve been ordering several pounds of tomatoes a week while they’re still available, and the mix includes sweet varieties, small tart ones, even some slightly spicy tomatoes. How can you say no? Everything I’ve ordered through Heldeberg has been excellent. The eggs have firm whites and tall, orange yolks. I’m a fan of the mixed greens, and dinner tonight was an almost creamy lamb liver — for about $1.50 per pound.

With fall upon us and winter coming up, I’m going to be doing a lot more cooking but more importantly a lot more eating. You’ll probably be seeing a lot more photos about it too.

Heirloom Tomatoes from Heldeberg Market

Related Posts:
Rhubarb Infused Vodka
You Are What You Eat

7 thoughts on “Heirloom Tomatoes from Heldeberg Market

  1. B

    I also have some wasabi peanuts, I’ll hold off on blogging about those :)

    No, not becoming a food blog, but as the weather gets colder opportunities to go out and shoot get rarer, so all those indoor shooting projects get some work. Like the unicorn taming.

  2. -S

    Damn’, I actually had waffle photos to post. I’ll wait until you forget.

    I kept tons of photos to process for winter, the scuba series for example: expect a lot of muddy shots. Did you know I saw a geoduck down there? Wait, no, it was a tire.

    The color of that huge tomato is off my colorblind chart. It is true it’s a bit difficult to get the scale; you can find small and big apples out there. I think there is no problem here to make your point using the good old “compare to a quarter” technology.

  3. B

    The problem I have is that when I have a chance to photo food, I’m usually also eating it. Look at that tomato! It wanted to be eaten! I’m not always in the proper state of mind to put a Euro next to something when I’m hungry.

    Looking forward to those scuba shots…

  4. Keet

    Speaking of winter, will it be winter before we see the pics off the waterproof camera from tubing down in the Catskills?

Leave a Reply

