2010 Santa Speedo Sprint

Santa Speedo Sprint 2010

December 11, 2010 marked the 5th annual Santa Speedo Sprint, sponsored by the Albany Society for the Advancement of Philanthropy to benefit the Albany Damien Center. In 2009 ASAP helped raise over $15,000 to support individuals and families living with and affected by HIV/AIDS.

Santa Speedo Sprint 2010

This year’s Santa Speedo Sprint was no different than in the past, with the possible exception of community support and costume design. Those were yet awesomer than last year. I was unfortunately unable to capture everything, but rest assured that all was on full display, from scantily clad elves to Santa and his reindeer to chickens and more.

Santa Speedo Sprint 2010

This year’s event was clearly a success; when I checked during registration, ASAP had already confirmed more than $7,500 in pledges, and the final count is yet to be tallied. A big thank you also goes out to Albany’s finest who helped secure the street for the run and very patiently monitored the event. With their help, everything went off without a hitch. Last I heard this year’s total was over $20,000 already. Good work, folks!

A special apology goes out to the woman I totally walked into. I really thought I cracked her a good one on the head with my chin, but it turns out I’m no Bruce Campbell even if we share some initials. She took it in stride, and it’s to be expected when there are that many people and photographers in the street, I got my boots stepped on my fair share as well.

As usual, the slideshow has plenty more photos, and don’t forget to check out Seb’s shots (don’t miss his video), and Albany Tim has some too. Some good stuff from the folks at All Over Albany as well. Here is possibly the awesomest series of the day, one sprinter took photos of photographers during the race — that’s him down there right after shooting me. And another quality flickr set from MikeCNY. If you have photos from the event, let me know, I’d love to add more links.

Elsewhere:
DelSo
Kevin Marshall
Citizen One

Santa Speedo Sprint 2010 Santa Speedo Sprint 2010 Santa Speedo Sprint 2010
Santa Speedo Sprint 2010 Santa Speedo Sprint 2010

Related Posts:
2009 Santa Speedo Sprint and more from 2009
Northeast Warrior Dash

Leave a Reply

